A Closer Look: May 2014 The Handy Box Review – For the Home / “Handy” Subscription Box

A Closer Look: May 2014 The Handy Box Review – For the Home / “Handy” Subscription Box

May 2014 The Handy Box Review

The Handy Box is a newer subscription box that is great for DIYers, first-time home owners, and others who want a monthly box of handy tools and gadgets. The May 2014 The Handy Box is their second box and we were excited to see what was in this month’s box.

The first thing we noticed was that this month’s box was both heavy and STUFFED. After opening the box, we saw why. Right on top was a wireless security system.

May 2014 The Handy Box Review - First Look

After removing the security system, we found the product information card that detailed the products that were in the May The Handy Box.

May 2014 The Handy Box Review - Product Card

Inside the May 2014 The Handy Box

There were 6 items inside the May 2014 The Handy Box.

May 2014 The Handy Box Review - Inside the Box

1. Secure Pro Keypad Alarm SystemRetail Value: $19.99

Help keep your home secure with this wireless, battery operated security alarm. BONUS: Installing the alarm is a great starter DIY project!

2. 3AA Duracell BatteriesEstimated Retail Value: $2.10

Use these Duracell batteries to power-up the security system or for many electronics around the home.

3. 3-Way Staple Gun + included staplesRetail Value: $19.99

This staple gun is handy for projects both inside and outside the home. This 3-in-1 gun fits 3 different staples sizes which are also included.

4. Varsity Safety GlassesEstimated Retail Value: $4.00

Safety is first with these lightweight glasses. Use them during any of your project to keep your eyes protected.

5. 6″ x #2 Phillips Head Magnetic Tip ScrewdriverEstimated Retail Value: $4.99

6. 6″ x 1/4″ Flat Head Magnetic Tip ScrewdriverEstimated Retail Value: $4.99

Stop dropping those screws with these magnetic tip screwdrivers. The handles are rubber coated with a great grip.

May 2014 The Handy Box Wrap-Up

May 2014 The Handy Box Review

The Handy Box subscription box continued to deliver a great assortment of handy tools and gadgets with their second box. There seemed to be a “safety” theme with the security alarm and safety glasses. The staple gun is a tool that lots of people could use but rarely actually buy for themselves. The total estimated retail value of the May 2014 The Handy Box is $56.06.

Which was your favorite item in the May The Handy Box?

Hot right now

Hot right now

Kiwi Crate

  • Kid activities
  • From $11.97

Comments

  • Patricia E.

    I think my hubby could use it!

  • Janet Boyanton

    Nice box. I can think of several people who would enjoy it.

  • Roy F.

    My mom could use it.

  • Dawn S.

    I think my husband would absolutely love this!

  • kris m

    my boyfriend will love it

  • Paul Sofranko

    My husband Paul!

  • Sky Evans

    My dad could use this.

  • Jennifer

    My husband could definitely use this cool sub box!

  • Stephanie MacDonald

    me, to help get a few things done <3 <3

  • stacy

    My husband would love this, he is a DIYer and could always use some new tools and stuff.

  • Ashley C

    I definitely think my DH could use something like this!

  • Scott E Sanders

    My father and mother could use the stuff in this box..

  • Melanie Comello

    My husband would seriously dig this box!! He’s an electrician by trade and a jack of all trades by heart lol

  • Stephanie Galbraith

    I like the screwdrivers.

  • Susan Burge

    My grandson, who’s just starting out in his first apartment. Looks like a great way to get him started.

  • Tara Braun

    My husband would like this.

  • Hana

    Thanks for the review. I like the slip they put in explaining each item and showing them on one page.
    The safety goggles would be great but also staple gun.

  • Dawn Walker

    I would give this to my father for Father’s Day.

  • Mihaela Day

    My favorite is the 3-Way Staple Gun + included staples

  • Audra O’Hara

    I think my hubby could use this; so much so in fact that I bought him a 3 month subscription for Father’s Day. I think my stepson or nephew would also enjoy getting this in the mail!

  • rose

    my husband is always working on stuff he could really use this :)

  • Joni chadwell

    My son could use this, he just bought a home!

  • Michelle Wagaman

    My husband can use it to teach his son how to ‘do things around the house’

  • Daisy Manzo

    i I would love to give this to my father. I love the secure pro item!

  • Erica C.

    I could use this.

  • Misha Estrada

    I would keep this. I’m a single mom, so it falls to me to try to be handy.

  • ann

    My brother – oh goodness! Haha

  • Wwermter

    I could use it! Who couldn’t?! This is a fantastic innovation.

  • Sara Campbell

    I could use this box since I have a few projects around the house that need to be done.

  • faith robeson

    my boyfriend

  • Tia Y

    My daughters could use the Handy Box with my husband.

  • hallei

    could use this when i move in to my new apartment :)

  • Sarah Denton

    I could use it as could my husband

  • N Sunshyn V

    My husband could really use this.

  • Pop Culture Mom

    I could use this for myself! I have a lot of DIY projects around the house

  • Lindsay Giedosh

    My dad! He’s a total handyman

  • Shannon C

    My husband & I could really use this!

  • Lauren

    It’s all very useful!

  • Kirsten

    My husband and daughter would love the staple gun

  • Kirsten

    The 3 way staple gun

  • Francine Anchondo

    my husband.

  • Erica Saldivar

    My dad would definitely love this box, hes such a “tools” guy :)

  • Crystal Morton

    I could use it wo y ld be fantastic to have.

  • Marci Wright

    I could use this! It would be really handy to have these items around the house!

  • Tonya Tipton

    This would perfect for my husband.

  • Cheryl Mayers

    I would keep it for myself, the staple gun would really come in handy!!

  • K Brown

    Great for Father’s Day

  • Angela R Higdon

    This would be a cool subscription box to have! I always run across DIY projects where I need a weird tool!

  • Julie

    I would give this to my hubby for his birthday coming up

  • Wehaf

    My favorite item is the staple gun – I’ve wanted one for ages.

  • Mary Hoffman

    I could actually use it myself, I;m quite the “Handy-Woman!”

  • David Smith

    I could use the Handy Box for myself.

  • Kyla Stevenson

    My husband would love this!

  • cylina williams

    My husband would like this.

  • jessica

    I would love to try this box!

  • Aviva

    I would use it.

  • Emily B.

    My husband would be thrilled to have this.

  • janet evans

    Would give it to my husband for Father’s day

  • Annmarie W.

    My hubby and I would both love the stuff in this box!

  • Ashley M

    Both me and my boyfriend would use everything in the box.

  • Gina H.

    My Dad.

  • Stephanie T

    My dad and I could use all of this for our summer remodeling projects.

  • Annette B

    Not only could I use it, but my 2 sons could also.

  • Rachel Bernhardt

    Living alone & doing my own repairs I could really use some of these useful items!

  • Barbara Bowman

    I would give these to my husband because he loves gadgets :)

  • Kathy

    I would love to win this box:)

  • Natalie Brown

    Hi! I could use this box. Having just moved into my own place, it would be great!! Thank-you

  • Joe Skidmore

    Think I’d have to keep this one, I can surely put it to use at home

  • tansy diaz

    i could use this box, im always needing tools.

  • Daniel Casto

    i need this

  • Sheila Owen

    My son would love this, he thinks he’s a handy man..lol

  • Claire D

    My boyfriend and I could both use it. We are very slowly amassing a paltry tool collection.

  • Yolanda Dempsey

    I need this box for myself. The alarm would be perfect for my apartment.

  • Jennifer Dunn

    My husband and my dad would like to have this.

  • Cher Garman

    My hubby would absolutely love this! I know he loves fixing things around our place instead of paying someone! This is perfect for him!

  • melissa sly

    my son

  • Elisabeth Ellsworth

    My husband LOVES tools! He’d definitely love this box!

  • Brooke T

    Our whole family would love this!! We love gadgets and new tools.

  • Becky Horn

    My husband would love to have this, he loves tool and likes nifty gadgets.

  • Mumzie

    I would give this to my husband who looses more tools than he tells me about.

  • teena sierson

    My hubby could use this he is a very good handyman

  • Debra Brownstein

    Me, I’m the handy person in my household!

  • Gloria DesJardins

    I would keep this box for myself

  • Jane Ritz

    I would keep this box. I’m always needing a tool and don’t have it. Women have to fix things too!

  • Barb

    My nephew

  • Sheila M.

    This would make a great Father’s Day present for my husband. He would love it!

  • heather

    definitely interesting

  • greg

    I’d prob keep in in our kitchen, it would be handy to have these things available for quick use!

  • Stephanie

    I think that my boyfriend could really use this box! It would keep him organized!

  • Menucha

    me n my guy!

  • debbie

    I think my husband would love this box.

  • Roxann

    We could definitely use it in our house.

  • Peppin

    I would like to win this box for myself. It would be helpful to have more screwdrivers about the house.

  • Peppin

    I would like this box for myself.

  • karen hunter

    I could this box

  • alena svetelska

    my husband would love tools and littel gadgets.

  • alena svetelska

    my husband would love to have this,he loves tools and gadgets.

  • Melissa C

    My husband could use the handy box :)

  • PATTI F.

    This sounds like a great box for my hubby!

  • Stephanie

    My sister just bought her first house so I’d love to give it to her.

  • Sarah

    I could use the handy box.

  • Rose-Ann C.

    I could certainly use it! Lots of great items in the box!

  • Brigitte B

    I would be using the Handy Box because all I have at home is a hammer,

  • Laurie Hasemeier

    This would be great for my husband. He could use everything provided.

  • sandra

    my husband would use this box

  • Kate

    I do! I am the fixer upper of the house!

  • Brent S

    I could definitely use it!

  • Selinda McCumbers

    My husband could use this box (I hope! Love the security system)

  • Janice Dean

    My husband could use this box! Thanks

  • Linda romer

    Oh this would be for my husband. He loves gadgets and tools, he’s very handy.

  • Michelle McCulloch

    Great handy box! Thanks for the chance!

  • Sonya Allstun

    me and hubby both could use it we both work together on any projects around the house

  • Teresa

    My mom could use this!

  • Ana

    me,of course!

  • Megan Holland

    My dad!

  • Mindie W

    I definitely could use a handy box and a handy man that would keep everything in my house in tip top shape.

  • Robin Wilson

    Me! I could absolutely use this box!

  • Jamielee Kimball

    My husband would really like this! He keeps talking about how we don’t have enough tools for the every day stuff. This would be perfect!

  • John Leahy

    My wife would say I could (should) use it!

  • rhoni4

    I think I could use this box, but my hubby might think differently.

  • Alona Y

    My fiance could use this, he is a handy guy!

  • Alexandrea M

    Oooh I haven’t heard of this one before, my manly box purchases tend toward the food and drink direction. Think I’ll look at what they put out for a few months and consider it for my husband’s upcoming birthday!

  • Alex T

    My dad would love a box like this – thanks for the giveaway!

  • Laura G

    I know hubby would like it

  • Laura G

    I know hubby would love it

  • Enrique Herrera

    I would share this with my father, for… you guessed it! Father’s Day! ^_^

  • Rusty H

    My husband could really use a box like this.

  • Loraine Ellis

    I could use this along with my bf

  • Jeanne

    My husband and son could both use this!!

  • roberta

    /My boyfriend would love this

  • deb c

    My husband would definitely like this. I do, also.

  • Kathryn Mackey

    I could use a tool box

  • Holly Thomas

    My Husband would love this.

  • Esperanza Gailliard

    I think my brother or husband could use this handy box. Someone needs to be nice to me this week and if I win they will get it! :D This is mom talking now!

  • christopher h

    i’m in a new place with very few tools – this would really help me out

  • Michelle L.

    It will be a toss up between my husband and I about who would use the Handy Box! I think I am more handy that he is!!

  • Linda Kish

    My son could use this.

  • Cara

    This would be great for my husband!

  • Erin M

    I could use all of it, but I would love the staple gun for my classroom! :)

  • denise low

    my husband really needs this

  • Jenn S.

    This would be perfect for my husband!

  • Jenn S.

    This box would be perfect for my handyman husband.

  • Tyneisha Fondren

    This would be very helpful at our house!

  • Crystal Arcand (3Stairs)

    I want this for my husband. We recently bought our first house.

  • lori

    Would love to use the alarm at my parents’ house.

  • Melissa M

    I think anyone could use it, but I know I definitely could. That alarm system is perfect for my home, and I have been looking for something like this that doesn’t require wiring or professional installation.