September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron Review + Get 3 FREE Meals

September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron Review + Get 3 FREE Meals

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches

Blue Apron is a weekly subscription box that makes dinner time fun and easy. Each week, Blue Apron releases a new menu that offers subscribers a variety new meals to cook. Then Blue Apron ships you all the ingredients and an easy-to-follow recipe so you can cook the dinners in your own kitchen. With today’s Blue Apron review, we’re unboxing our September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron meal delivery box.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Box

Blue Apron boxes ship via FedEx with cool packs to keep your proteins, dairy, and produce cool and fresh when it’s delivered to your doorstep. Here’s a first look inside our Blue Apron September meal box.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - First Look

Inside Our September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron Box

Our weekly September Blue Apron box contained ingredients and recipes for:

  • Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches with Tomato, Cucumber & Romaine Salad
  • Five-Spice Chicken with Vermicelli, Mushrooms & Baby Fennel
  • Thai Red Curry & Rice with Shokichi Squash & Eggplant

Blue Apron includes recipes cards for each of the meals in your meal delivery box. The recipes provide step-by-step instructions and pictures to help you cook the meal.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Recipe Cards

Blue Apron Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches with Tomato, Cucumber & Romaine Salad

For our first Blue Apron dinner, we cooked Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches with Tomato, Cucumber & Romaine Salad. The ingredients for this meal included beef, a baguette, shishito peppers, romaine heart, cucumber, tomato, garlic, shallot, mayo and red wine vinegar. We only needed to provide the olive oil, salt, and pepper.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches Ingredients

The recipe gives instructions for prepping the meal ingredients. For this meal prep, we chopped the peppers, minced garlic, chopped up the lettuce, and diced the tomato and lettuce.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches Prep

The first step was to toast the baguettes and cook the peppers. Then, it was time to cook the beef. After cooking the beef, we made the garlic aioli and spread it on the top of the toasted baguette half. We put the cooked beef and peppers on top of the aioli to make the open-faced sandwich. The side salad was made with the romaine lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and shallots that were marinated in the red wine vinegar.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Beef & Shishito Open-Faced Sandwiches

The Beef & Shishito sandwich was a delicious sandwich with a kick. The baguette toasted up perfectly and provided a nice crunch with each bite. The shishito peppers do have some heat to them but also add a bit of smokiness to the meat. The garlic aioli was a great complement to the beef. We loved the light salad and vinaigrette as the side dish and could really appreciate the freshness of the vegetables.

Blue Apron Five-Spice Chicken with Vermicelli, Mushrooms & Baby Fennel

The next dish we tried was Blue Apron’s Five-Spice Chicken with Vermicelli, Mushrooms & Baby Fennel.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Five-Spiced Chicken Ingredients

Once again, we start with prepping the ingredients. Then we cooked the chicken, covering the pan with foil as instructed. The broth is made with the mushrooms, collard greens, noodles, garlic, ginger, scallion and fennel. (Fennel smells like licorice!) The hoisin sauce and soy sauce help give this dish Asian flavor.

September 2016 Blue Apron Review - Five-Spiced Chicken

We loved that this dish was both filling and light. We went a little light on the five-spice while cooking the chicken to dial down the heat. The chicken was moist and had the perfect amount of spice. The broth was packed with flavor and the noodles helped soak up the broth so you could get a taste with each bite.

The Thai Red Curry & Rice dish is a vegetarian dish that also had a ton of flavor. We added chicken to the dish for the meat eaters. The curry, made with peanut butter, coconut milk, and curry paste. You can adjust the heat level of the curry by adding more or less of the curry paste. While the curry itself had some heat, when eaten with the rice and veggies, it was much milder.

September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron Review Wrap-Up

September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron Review - Box Contents

Our September 2016 Week 4 Blue Apron meal delivery box delivered some delicious meals that had tons of flavor without weighing you down. We like that Blue Apron pre-portions and separates all of the ingredients so we can adjust the recipe as needed to match our tastes. These meals gave us an opportunity to cook some Asian-style meals, which provided great variety to our dinner time.

What was your favorite Blue Apron dinner?

Blue Apron Free Meals Coupon

Get 3 free meals in your first meal delivery box when you join using our Blue Apron coupon link! Click Here for THREE FREE meals when you join Blue Apron today!

How would you rate Blue Apron ?

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Hot right now

Hot right now

KiwiCo

  • Kid activities
  • From $11.97

Comments

Blue Apron

  • Delicious meals
  • From $59.94