July 2017 Blue Apron Review – Week 3 + Free Meals Offer

July 2017 Blue Apron Review – Week 3 + Free Meals Offer

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry with Roasted Plantain & Coconut Rice

Blue Apron is a meal delivery subscription box that makes cooking gourmet meals easy and fun. Blue Apron subscribers choose from a changing weekly menu and the food is shipped with ice packs so all the ingredients are fresh upon delivery. With today’s Blue Apron review, we’re unboxing our July 2017 Blue Apron Week 3 meal delivery.

July 2017 Blue Apron Review - Box

Each week, subscribers can log-in to their Blue Apron account to select the meals they want to receive. Blue Apron includes very basic step-by-step recipe cards for each of your meals to make you feel like the 5-Star chef we have all dreamed of becoming. Each card also has a picture to guide you through your meal prepping, and if that isn’t enough, they also give you how-to videos on their web page.

July 2017 Blue Apron Review - Recipes

Here’s the first look inside our July Blue Apron subscription box.

July 2017 Blue Apron Review - First Look

Inside Our July 2017 Blue Apron Meal Delivery Box

Our weekly July 2017 Blue Apron box contained ingredients and recipes for:

  • Caribbean Chicken Curry with Roasted Plantain & Coconut Rice
  • Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers with Summer Squash Slaw
  • Ribeye Steak & Spicy Vegetable Hash with Marinated Cucumber

Caribbean Chicken Curry with Roasted Plantain & Coconut Rice

For our first Blue Apron recipe, we cooked Caribbean Chicken Curry with Roasted Plantain & Coconut Rice. Blue Apron conveniently provided all the fresh vegetables, meat, and sauces to turn this meal experience into a fun date night. All we had to provide was salt, pepper, and olive oil.

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry - Ingredients

For the Chicken Curry dish, sliced the plantains and garlic. We also peeled the cucumber leaving alternate strips and diced, chopped the scallions, ginger, and cilantro. In a bowl, we mixed the coconut milk powder with one cup of water and quartered our lime.

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry - Coconut Mix

With our prepared coconut milk powder and water, we combined it to a packet of rice in boiling water. Once boiling we covered the pot and reduced the heat to a low for the rice to absorb the water and become tender.

As the rice cooked, we roasted the plantains on a sheet pan and drizzled with olive oil. Flipping each plantain halfway through the roasting process to get them evenly browned on both sides.

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry - Plantains

Our next step was to marinate the cucumber salad. We added the green tops of the scallions, half of our diced ginger, and the juice of two limes. Drizzle with olive oil and allowed to sit until our meal was complete, stirring occasionally.

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry - Marinating Cucumbers

In a nonstick pan with olive oil, we put in the chicken, which was already cut for us. Once there was an even cooked layer on the chicken, we added the garlic, spice blend, white bottoms of scallions, and remaining ginger.

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry - Cooking Chicken

The Carribean Chicken Curry was such an original and flavorful meal. The plantains were an unexpected favorite and the curry flavor was divine!

Blue Apron Caribbean Chicken Curry with Roasted Plantain & Coconut Rice

Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers with Summer Squash Slaw

Blue Apron Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers - Ingredients

With this recipe, we started by, cutting strips of squash, finely chopping garlic, slicing the mushrooms and cheese. We chopped the parsley, and to finish the prep work we sliced the pepper.

Blue Apron Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers - Prep

In a medium bowl, we combined squash, pickle relish, half the vinegar, and half of the garlic paste. Allowed it to marinate for 10 minutes then we added pepper.

Blue Apron Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers - Marinating Cucumber Salad

While the slaw marinated, we cooked the mushrooms in a medium-high pan with olive oil until softened. Then we added the remaining vinegar and garlic paste and cooked for another minute.

Blue Apron Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers - Mushrooms

In a bowl, we mixed the ground beef with salt and pepper. We then formed ½ inch patties and cooked them in the same pan we made the mushrooms. After cooking 2-4 minutes per a side, we evenly placed the gouda cheese on the burgers and covered the pan until it was melted.

Blue Apron Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers - Cheese

We toasted the potato buns in the pan of reserved fond then applied Dijon mustard to each toasted side. We dished our meal and topped the slaw with chopped parsley.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Smoked Gouda Cheeseburgers with Summer Squash Slaw

YUM!! These smoked gouda burgers were incredible! The combination of the gouda, mushrooms, and burger made our taste go ballistic. The summer squash was a nice touch as well.

Ribeye Steak & Spicy Vegetable Hash with Marinated Cucumber

Our final meal was the eye-catching Ribeye Steak and Spicy Vegetable Hash.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Ribeye Steak - Ingredients

Again, we prepped our meal by dicing potatoes, squash, and quartering the lime. We also smashed the garlic to flatten it and chopped the cilantro leaves, poblano pepper, and jalapeno pepper. In our prepping stage marinated our cucumber with the juice of two limes, olive oil, and salt and pepper.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Ribeye Steak - Prep

While the Cucumbers marinated we boiled potatoes and flattened garlic until tender.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Ribeye Steak - Marinating Cucumbers

The steak was patted dry with a paper towel then seasoned with salt and pepper on both sides. In a large cast iron pan, we cooked the steak with olive oil for 5 minutes on each side, since we like our steak cooked medium. Once cooked to our liking, we set the steak aside to rest. We thinly sliced the steak against the grain crosswise to make little individual strips.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Ribeye Steak - Cooking Steak

While the steak cooked, in a bowl we combined the crème Fraiche, half of our cilantro, the juice of the remaining limes. We also added a few jalapeno limes to give it a little kick and then drizzled with olive oil.

Lastly, while the steak rested, we drained the potatoes and placed them in a medium high pan until lightly browned. Once complete we added the squash and poblano pepper and continued to cook for another 3 to 4 minutes. We seasoned the hash with salt and pepper and it was time to eat.

July 2017 Week 3 Blue Apron Review - Ribeye Steak & Spicy Vegetable Hash with Marinated Cucumber

We loved this meal. The ribeye steak was mouth watering with all the spices and jalapeno pepper. The vegetable hash paired nicely with the steak and the cucumber was so fresh.

We sure enjoyed ALL our Blue Apron meals. The recipes were so detailed and it was easy making these gourmet meals. Blue Apron has mastered both cost efficiency and convenience.

Blue Apron Free Meals Coupon

Get 3 free meals in your first meal delivery box when you join using our Blue Apron coupon link! Click Here to get THREE FREE meals when you join Blue Apron today!

Blue Apron 3 Free Meals

How would you rate Blue Apron ?

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Hot right now

Hot right now

KiwiCo

  • Kid activities
  • From $11.97

Comments

Blue Apron

  • Delicious meals
  • From $59.94